Nigerian Newly Approved Federal, State and Private Universities in 2023 [Full List]

Full List of Newly Approved Federal, State and Private Universities in Nigeria

Approval of new universities is a continuous process. It is best to check the latest information from the Nigerian University Commission (NUC), which is the regulatory body in charge of accrediting and approving universities in Nigeria

No less than 19 universities were approved by the federal government in the year 2022 and they’re now functioning

Data obtained from the website of the national university commission showed that 1 federal university, and 6 state universities were issued licences to operate in the country last year

Following the long industrial action by the academic staff union of universities (ASUU) in 2022, the federal government certified 12 private universities to commence operation the same year

The federal government through the National University Commission (NUC) approved about 19 federal, state and private universities for operations between January and December 2022.

An analysis of the data obtained from the NUC website showed that only 1 federal university was approved by President Muhammadu Buhari in the year 2022

A further breakdown also revealed that 6 state and 12 private universities were also approved.

Newly approved Federal University in Nigeria

Here is the list for newly approved Federal University in Nigeria

  1. King David Umahi University of Medical Sciences, Uburu, Ebonyi state

Names of New States Universities below;

  1. The Lagos University of Science and Technology, Ikorodu
  2. The Enugu State University of Medicine and Applied Sciences, Igbo-Eno
  3. The Emmanuel Alayande University of Education, Oyo State
  4. The Lagos University of Education, Ijanikin

Full List of Newly Approved Federal, State and Private Universities In Nigeria

Here is the List of Newly Approved Federal, State and Private Universities In Nigeria;

  1. PEN Resource University, Gombe
  2. Al-Ansar University, Maiduguri, Borno
  3. Margaret Lawrence University, Umunede, Delta State
  4. Khalifa Isiyaku Rabiu University, Kano
  5. Sports University, Idumuje, Ugboko, Delta State
  6. Baba Ahmed University, Kano State
  7. Saisa University of Medical Sciences and Technology, Sokoto State
  8. Nigerian British University, Asa, Abia State
  9. Peter University, Achina-Onneh Anambra State
  10. Newgate University, Minna, Niger State
  11. The European University of Nigeria, Duboyi, FCT
  12. NorthWest University Sokoto State

List of new courses NUC approves for Nigerian universities

Here is the list of the newly approved courses for Nigerian university;

Schools lover earlier reported that the NUC has just approved about 6 courses for Nigerian universities, in which students would be admitted to study these courses in the institutions.

The NUC executive secretary, Professor Abubakar Rashed has said that the new core curriculum and academic standards followed a review of the existing benchmark.

Some of the new courses include cyber security, a course that individuals and organisations now look forward to get its graduates.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *